HON’BLE SUPREME COURT · SOURCE-REVIEWED NOTE

The Principal Commissioner of Income Tax-8 v. M/s Yes Bank Ltd.

Civil Appeal No. 3148 of 2019
[2019] 5 SCR 6 ·
260A · 35D · 263

Legal issue decided / limited remandRevenue on the procedural appeal only

Two-judge bench; one judgment delivered by Abhay Manohar Sapre, J. · Abhay Manohar Sapre, J. · Dinesh Maheshwari, J.

Assessment years: 2007-08

01 · Facts of the case

For AY 2007-08, the question arose whether Yes Bank could claim a deduction under section 35D as an industrial undertaking. The Bank asserted that it qualified; the Supreme Court did not decide that characterization. The Assessing Officer passed an order on 31 October 2009. Proceedings before the Commissioner under section 263 followed and resulted in an adverse order dated 14 November 2011. The retained report does not supply the deduction quantum, the detailed expenditure categories, the terms of the assessment order or a separate decision on the jurisdictional requirements of section 263. [SCR 8; paras 4–6]

The Bank appealed to the ITAT, which allowed its appeal on 5 December 2014. The Revenue then filed Bombay High Court ITA 599/2015 under section 260A. The High Court dismissed that appeal on 1 August 2017 after hearing both parties. The Revenue obtained special leave in the Supreme Court, giving rise to Civil Appeal 3148/2019. The official auxiliary judgment heading and one-page record of proceedings identify the originating SLP(C) 7118/2018. [SCR 7–8; jurisdiction recital and paras 1–2, 7–8; official parallel heading/record]

The Supreme Court was also told that the same section 35D applicability issue was pending before the High Court in an appeal by the Bank. The judgment does not identify that other appeal by number, assessment year or order date. Its direction to hear the appeals together is conditional upon that other appeal being pending; this report is not proof of the companion proceeding’s later status or outcome. [SCR 9–10; paras 15 and 17]

Source: See the proposition-specific paragraph and PDF-page references below.

02 · Discussion by the Hon’ble Court

The Court gave three linked reasons for remand. First, no substantial question of law had been framed even though the High Court heard the appeal bipartite; the judgment distinguished this from a dismissal in limine on an express no-substantial-question ground. Second, the High Court left issues undecided by saying that their decision was unnecessary. Third, although the High Court itself had identified section 35D applicability as the principal issue, it had not decided it. [SCR 9; paras 11–13]

The Court held that a proper substantial question concerning section 35D applicability, together with the other questions arising in the case, should have been formulated and answered according to law. The Supreme Court did not supply a verbatim numbered list of questions, decide that a bank is or is not an industrial undertaking, allow the deduction on its merits or decide a general section 263 proposition. The defect concerned the manner in which this statutory appeal was disposed of. [SCR 9; para 14, read with para 18]

The direction for coordinated High Court consideration was also bounded. Paragraph 15 records what was brought to the Court’s notice and says that, if so, both appeals should be decided together. Paragraph 17 repeats the qualification if pending. It does not dispose of the unidentified assessee appeal or transform it into a second Supreme Court appeal. [SCR 9–10; paras 15–17]

Paragraph 18 expressly reserves all merits and requires fresh disposal uninfluenced by observations both in the set-aside High Court order and in the Supreme Court’s order. The selected 2011 statutory compilation independently distinguishes the substantial-question threshold, formulation, hearing and reasoned determination; its subsection (4) proviso preserves the power to hear an additional substantial question for recorded reasons. That context prevents the procedural ruling from becoming a claim that mere notice or a hearing inevitably establishes a substantial question in every case. [SCR 10; para 18; DOR compilation physical 914–915]

The same compilation’s section 35D annotation records omission of industrial with effect from 1 April 2009. Because this case concerns AY 2007-08, a later consolidated wording cannot silently resolve the Bank’s historical eligibility. The annotation is a bounded version caution only: the exact applicable-year enacted text and the complete amendment chain were not authenticated in this review, and the Supreme Court’s own merits reservation remains controlling for this note. [DOR compilation physical 272–273, notes 95/99; SCR 8 para 5 and SCR 10 para 18]

Source: See the proposition-specific paragraph and PDF-page references below.

03 · Judicial decision

Civil Appeal 3148/2019 was allowed and the Bombay High Court’s 1 August 2017 order set aside. The Revenue’s appeal was remanded for fresh merits disposal after proper substantial question(s) were framed, together with the other appeal if it remained pending. The High Court was to proceed uninfluenced by observations in either the impugned order or the Supreme Court’s order. The Court expressed no view on the underlying merits. No costs sum or costs direction is stated in the retained report; the separately read official record disposes of pending applications, if any. [SCR 9–10; paras 15–18; official 15 March 2019 record]

Source: See the proposition-specific paragraph and PDF-page references below.

04 · Outcome / in whose favour

In whose favour: Revenue on the procedural appeal only

Allowed; High Court order set aside; fresh question formulation and merits disposal, with the other High Court appeal only if pending

Final reasoned Supreme Court determination of section 260A appellate procedure; underlying AY 2007-08 section 35D and section 263 merits expressly open

The Revenue obtained a fresh statutory appellate adjudication of the identified questions. The Supreme Court did not decide the Bank’s industrial-undertaking status, section 35D deduction entitlement or the merits of the Commissioner’s revision. The companion appeal’s current status and the eventual post-remand outcome remain unverified.

Source: See the proposition-specific paragraph and PDF-page references below.

05 · AKHB REVIEW POINT

Separate the operative section 260A ruling from the unresolved tax claim. This judgment supports the need to formulate and decide the material substantial questions in the identified appeal; it is not an authority granting section 35D deductions to banks. Preserve the conditional nature of the connected-appeal direction and verify the applicable-year wording before relying on a later compilation. In particular, do not substitute a post-1 April 2009 omission of industrial for the statute relevant to AY 2007-08 without examining the proper historical text and later proceedings.

Source: See the proposition-specific paragraph and PDF-page references below.

Detailed disposition and connected groups

costs
Not expressly addressed
monetary relief
No Supreme Court quantification, payment, refund or sustained tax liability.

Individual proceeding outcomes

  • case number
    Assessing Officer order; number not supplied
    decision date
    2009-10-31
    role
    Assessment-stage order
    outcome
    Led to proceedings before the Commissioner under section 263; the retained report does not state detailed terms or a quantified deduction.
    source
    SCR 8; para 6
  • case number
    Commissioner section 263 proceedings; number not supplied
    decision date
    2011-11-14
    role
    Revision-stage order
    outcome
    An adverse order against the Bank, later appealed to the ITAT. No general section 263 jurisdiction ruling is made by the Supreme Court.
    source
    SCR 8; para 6
  • case number
    Bank’s ITAT appeal; number not supplied
    decision date
    2014-12-05
    role
    Assessee’s Tribunal appeal
    outcome
    Allowed by the ITAT, leading to the Revenue’s High Court appeal.
    source
    SCR 8; para 7
  • case number
    Bombay High Court ITA No. 599 of 2015
    decision date
    2017-08-01
    role
    Revenue’s section 260A appeal
    outcome
    Dismissed after hearing both parties; the order was set aside and the appeal remanded.
    source
    SCR 8–10; paras 2, 8 and 17
  • case number
    SLP(C) No. 7118 of 2018
    role
    Originating special leave petition, identified from official auxiliary web text
    outcome
    Leave granted; Civil Appeal 3148/2019 allowed in terms of the reportable judgment. Pending applications, if any, disposed of in the official pronouncement record.
    source
    Official SCI heading and one-page 15 March 2019 record
  • case number
    Civil Appeal No. 3148 of 2019
    decision date
    2019-03-15
    role
    Revenue’s Supreme Court appeal
    outcome
    Allowed; High Court order set aside; fresh question formulation and merits disposal directed, with no opinion on the tax merits.
    costs
    No express costs direction in the retained judgment.
    source
    SCR 9–10; paras 10–18
  • case number
    Separate Bank appeal in the High Court; unidentified in the judgment
    role
    Reported related proceeding, not a second Supreme Court appeal
    outcome
    To be heard with the remitted appeal if pending. No disposition or continuing pendency is established by this review.
    source
    SCR 9–10; paras 15 and 17

Proposition-specific source paragraphs and PDF pages

  • label
    Report identity, editorial headnote and jurisdiction recital
    source url
    Open cited source
    pdf pages
    1; 2
  • label
    Assessment and appellate history; SCR 8, paras 1–8
    source url
    Open cited source
    pdf pages
    3
  • label
    Three reasons, formulation duty and conditional connected-appeal direction; SCR 9, paras 9–16
    source url
    Open cited source
    pdf pages
    4
  • label
    Allowed appeal, conditional remand and express merits reservation; SCR 10, paras 17–18
    source url
    Open cited source
    pdf pages
    5

Questions to be formulated by the High Court on remand

  • question
    A properly formulated substantial question on the applicability of section 35D to the Bank, together with other substantial questions arising in the appeal.
    status
    To be formulated and answered by the High Court; no verbatim numbered set was supplied by the Supreme Court.
    source
    SCR 9–10; paras 14 and 17

Quantification and monetary limits

No disputed addition, deduction amount, tax demand, interest, penalty or costs sum is quantified in the retained Supreme Court report. No amount from a different assessment year or a search-result excerpt is imported.

Reported source anomalies and their limits

Physical pages 1–2/SCR 6–7 contain the editorial headnote and the jurisdiction/counsel recital; judicial text starts at physical page 3/SCR 8 and ends at physical page 5/SCR 10, paragraphs 1–18. No adjacent judgment is included.; The parenthetical reference to para 6 in judgment paragraph 12 is read in its context as referring to the High Court order; paragraph 13 expressly identifies the High Court’s paragraph 6. The unseen High Court passage is not reconstructed.; The words if that be so and if pending are visible in the primary images. They are preserved as conditions, not normalized into a finding that another appeal remains pending today.; The assessment year printed 2007-2008 is rendered as 2007-08 for consistency without changing the year. Marginal A–H letters and running headers are layout, not judicial text.; Divya Pandey is the reporter credit. There is one opinion; the report does not authenticate handwritten or digital signatures.; The frozen catalogue identifier 2019INSC392 is not printed in the report; the verified printed citation is [2019] 5 SCR 6. Title, date, Civil Appeal number and exact source hash bridge the two representations.

Additional statutory context, not separate holdings

260A supplies the operative appellate duty of proper question formulation and decision.; 35D eligibility, including the Bank’s asserted industrial-undertaking character, is the unresolved merits issue to be considered on remand.; 263 identifies the Commissioner’s adverse revision-stage order in the history; no general holding on section 263 jurisdiction is delivered.

Judicial authorship and separate opinions

Abhay Manohar Sapre, J.

Act identified in the reviewed source

Income-tax Act, 1961

Specified statutory checks and their limits

  • source
    Department of Revenue-hosted Taxmann Income-tax Act 2011 compilation
    url
    Open cited source
    access date
    2026-10-06
    version
    2011 compilation, title leaf verified at physical page 2
    pinpoint
    Physical pages 914–915; printed 1.873–1.874
    result
    The displayed section 260A(1) requires a substantial question of law; (2)(c) concerns the memorandum; (3) requires judicial formulation when the Court is satisfied; (4) governs the hearing and preserves the reasoned additional-question proviso; (5) calls for a reasoned decision and permits costs. The historical NTT words are bracketed and footnote 46 describes a future-notified insertion in that edition, so they are not presented as authenticated operative 2019/current text.
    status
    bounded historical text and images verified
    limits
    Selected historical 2011 compilation pages only. No complete reading of all 1,251 pages or all section 35D subsections; no exact AY 2007-08/2019 enacted-text authentication, complete amendment chain, present-law certification or 2025 mapping. The stopped departmental section-260a-26 endpoint was not revisited or obtained by an alternate route.
  • source
    Department of Revenue-hosted Taxmann Income-tax Act 2011 compilation
    url
    Open cited source
    access date
    2026-10-06
    version
    2011 compilation; not the exact enacted text for AY 2007-08
    pinpoint
    Physical pages 272–273; printed 1.231–1.232, amendment annotations 95 and 99
    result
    The opening of section 35D concerns amortisation of specified preliminary expenses. The compilation expressly annotates omission of industrial by the Finance Act, 2008 with effect from 1 April 2009. That later wording cannot be silently projected into the disputed earlier assessment year or used to decide the Bank’s eligibility, which the Supreme Court left open.
    status
    bounded historical opening and amendment annotation verified
    limits
    No independently authenticated Finance Act 2008 Gazette or complete historical statutory chain was obtained. The annotation is a version caution, not a judicial answer to the remitted issue.

Specified later treatment checks and their limits

  • status
    potential later official itat lead not verified
    searched on
    2026-10-06
    source
    Official Income Tax Appellate Tribunal search result
    url
    Open cited source
    title
    Yes Bank Limited, ITA Nos. 3498–3500 and 3236–3238/Mum/2018; search result labels AYs 2011-12 to 2013-14
    finding
    The official search excerpt concerns section 35D/37 and quotes earlier-year material. Opening the full official document returned Internal Error. No complete judicial text, decision date, holding or treatment of this 15 March 2019 Supreme Court decision was verified.
    read bounds
    Search-result excerpt only; the displayed Page 22 label is not a verified total page count or a page-image read.
    limits
    No raw retry, PDF retention, source hash, image claim or inferred treatment. Different assessment years and quoted earlier decisions must not be merged into the 2019 Supreme Court facts.
    stop
    Full web open failed; no further acquisition attempted.
  • status
    bounded search limits
    scope
    Official SCI/Bombay/Delhi High Court/ITAT party-name, section 260A/35D and docket searches, with broader searches used for leads only.
    finding
    A 27 February 2019 Bombay High Court search excerpt predates the Supreme Court judgment; it was not authenticated as the unidentified companion appeal. Other 2024 same-bank tribunal leads were not adopted without a verified official full text. No target-specific later application, distinction, overruling or post-remand outcome is certified.
    limits
    Not a comprehensive citator or current-good-law search.

Majority, dissent and operative court order

One judgment of the Court; no separate concurrence or dissent. The reporter credit is not an additional opinion.

PDF text-only source checks and reading limits

  • kind
    official parallel judicial web text
    source role
    auxiliary only
    title
    The Principal Commissioner of Income Tax-8 v. M/s Yes Bank Ltd., official SCI rendition
    url
    Open cited source
    source url
    Open cited source
    source format
    web extracted pdf text
    reported web pdf pages
    7
    reported web text positions read
    1; 2; 3; 4; 5; 6; 7
    read bounds
    Complete displayed judicial text, paragraphs 1–18 plus heading and typed closing, web lines 0–115, reported PDF positions 1–7. No raw PDF or images.
    finding
    The heading identifies SLP(C) No. 7118 of 2018. The text preserves the conditional joint High Court hearing and leaves section 35D merits open, consistently with the frozen report.
    raw source retained
    false
    raw pdf retained
    false
    source file
    Not stated in the reviewed record
    sha256
    Not stated in the reviewed record
    source sha256
    Not stated in the reviewed record
    file bytes
    Not stated in the reviewed record
    physical text pages read
    physical image pages read
    full displayed judicial web text read
    true
    full document read
    false
    all document images read
    false
    page images read
    false
    pdf pages basis
    Page count and positions reported by the web tool; no locally retained raw PDF or image verification.
    web response observed at utc
    2026-10-06T09:47:14Z
    web response time basis
    Actual tool-response wall-clock notice, not an invented PDF acquisition time.
    reading completion recorded at utc
    2026-10-06T10:03:02.897940+00:00
    current law certification
    false
    frozen corpus ownership or classification change
    false
    limitation
    Auxiliary text corroboration only. It is neither a new frozen asset nor a second primary owner; typed closing names or a reference to a signed judgment do not authenticate signatures.
  • kind
    official ancillary record of proceedings web text
    source role
    auxiliary only
    title
    Yes Bank, Supreme Court record of proceedings on pronouncement, 15 March 2019
    url
    Open cited source
    source url
    Open cited source
    source format
    web extracted pdf text
    reported web pdf pages
    1
    reported web text positions read
    1
    read bounds
    Complete displayed one-page record, web lines 0–25, reported PDF position 1; no raw PDF or page image.
    finding
    Leave was granted and the appeal allowed in terms of the reportable judgment. Pending applications, if any, were disposed of. No particular application number or separate costs award is supplied.
    raw source retained
    false
    raw pdf retained
    false
    source file
    Not stated in the reviewed record
    sha256
    Not stated in the reviewed record
    source sha256
    Not stated in the reviewed record
    file bytes
    Not stated in the reviewed record
    physical text pages read
    physical image pages read
    full displayed judicial web text read
    true
    full document read
    false
    all document images read
    false
    page images read
    false
    pdf pages basis
    Page count and positions reported by the web tool; no locally retained raw PDF or image verification.
    web response observed at utc
    2026-10-06T09:47:14Z
    web response time basis
    Actual tool-response wall-clock notice, not an invented PDF acquisition time.
    reading completion recorded at utc
    2026-10-06T10:03:02.897940+00:00
    current law certification
    false
    frozen corpus ownership or classification change
    false
    limitation
    Auxiliary text corroboration only. It is neither a new frozen asset nor a second primary owner; typed closing names or a reference to a signed judgment do not authenticate signatures.

Retained PDF source checks and reading limits

  • kind
    historical statutory compilation
    source role
    auxiliary only
    title
    Department of Revenue-hosted Taxmann Income-tax Act 2011 compilation
    url
    Open cited source
    source url
    Open cited source
    source format
    retained pdf selected text and images
    source file
    batch_aaestate_rashtradoot_fresh_review/auxiliary/DOR_IT_Act_English_2011_compilation.pdf
    sha256
    1ec6e4c38dc1d524d1d40b1fd35d13ac1336c8fc549cef2af1bf723a999c822b
    source sha256
    1ec6e4c38dc1d524d1d40b1fd35d13ac1336c8fc549cef2af1bf723a999c822b
    file bytes
    8394755
    pdf pages
    1251
    physical text pages read
    2; 272; 273; 914; 915
    physical image pages read
    2; 272; 273; 914; 915
    full document read
    false
    all document images read
    false
    complete section35D read
    false
    read bounds
    Five selected full physical pages: 2 (2011 title), 272–273 (printed 1.231–1.232; section 35D opening, continuation and amendment notes 95/99), and 914–915 (printed 1.873–1.874; displayed section 260A and its annotations).
    reading started at utc
    2026-10-06T09:51:03.348256+00:00
    reading completed at utc
    2026-10-06T09:51:57.221429+00:00
    raw source reused not recopied
    true
    version limit
    Selected historical 2011 compilation pages only. No complete reading of all 1,251 pages or all section 35D subsections; no exact AY 2007-08/2019 enacted-text authentication, complete amendment chain, present-law certification or 2025 mapping.
    official web access
    The current official DOR URL was opened and reported a 1,251-page PDF; the current network PDF was not downloaded or hash-compared with the separately verified retained original.
    current law certification
    false
    frozen corpus ownership or classification change
    false

Source & verification

Download original judgment / order · Open cited source rendition

Identified source rendition: 5 PDF pages; SHA-256 1251d7e37fe4dcdd9a7b76a6effc45d5648a5cd150e867265f3d56e165de03db. Original bytes preserved. Physical3-5, SCR8-10, paragraphs1-18; physical1-2 contain reporter headnote and jurisdiction/counsel details. Complete report inspected.

  • all frozen primary text and image pages read
  • headnote judgment and reporter credit separated
  • statutory appellate finality separated from tax merits
  • all stated proceedings and costs silence recorded
  • no quantum imported from other years
  • official web text has no retained pdf hash or image claim
  • bounded historical statute check only
  • target specific later treatment and post remand outcome unverified
  • no2025 mapping claim
  • author eligibility is not independent approval admission or publication
  • The report expressly states Assessment Year 2007-2008; the shortened 2007-08 label refers to that same year. No amount of deduction or assessed income is supplied.
  • The Court gives three reasons why the statutory section 260A disposal cannot stand, requires formulation and decision of the material section 35D question and finally sets aside the High Court order. This is a reasoned final 1961 Act appellate ruling; section 35D and section 263 merits remain undecided.

Statutory scope

Not verified; no numerical equivalence, savings, transition or automatic precedent-carryover claim.

Later treatment

Source checked 2026-10-06. No verified target-specific later treatment or post-remand result is adopted. An official ITAT lead failed full access and is retained only as a qualified search lead.

Page references identify the supplied PDF; paragraph references identify the judgment unless stated otherwise.

Identified source links

Coverage, AI disclosure & professional disclaimer

Selected Supreme Court income-tax decisions and procedural orders checked against their identified sources. This collection is not exhaustive. The research catalogue has 2,569 indexed PDF assets, including alternate copies and incidental matches; that is not a count of unique or reviewed judgments. Historical and unreported coverage remains open.

AI-assisted research checked against the identified source. Extraction, interpretation or omission errors remain possible. Source review does not mean independent approval by a practising professional. Verify every material statement against the complete original judgment.

General research information only; not legal or tax advice, a certified judgment or a substitute for the full order. Applicability depends on facts, assessment year, statutory version and jurisdiction. Subsequent treatment is unverified unless a note expressly identifies the sources checked. Downloading does not create a professional engagement. Obtain case-specific advice before reliance.

The official 1961–2025 structural correspondence does not establish that a precedent applies under the new Act. Verify the enacted wording, commencement and transitional provisions separately.

Browse Hon’ble Supreme Court judgments